Last week saw the inaugural Electronic Music Awards take place in Downtown Los Angeles. The event was the first to be dedicated entirely to dance music and emerged in part from Paul Oakenfold's frustration at dance music's lack of representation in traditional music awards.

The event took the form of part award show part rave, with three areas of music featuring performances from a wide range of artists. Exciting newcomers such as Kidnap Kid, Madeaux and Goldfish shared stages with legendary acts like Moby, Juan Atkins and Robert Hood.

The whole event was streamed live on Twitter, but for those of you who missed out, you can read a full breakdown of the categories and winners below.


Album of the Year

Woman, Justice
Memories...Do Not Open
, The Chainsmokers
9, Cashmere Cat

Epoch, Tycho
Bonobo (WINNER)


Single of the Year

Skrillex & Rick Ross – “Purple Lamborghini”

Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber & MØ – “Cold Water”
The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer”
DJ Snake ft. Justin Bieber – “Let Me Love You”
Porter Robinson & Madeon – “Shelter”

Martin Garrix & Dua Lipa – “Scared To Be Lonely”


Record of the Year

Kidnap Kid & Lane 8 – Aba
Kölsch  – Grey
Todd Terje – Jungelknugen (Four Tet Remix)

Låpsley – Operator (DJ Koze Extended Disco Version)

Rufus Du Sol – Innerbloom (Sasha Remix) (WINNER)


Remix of the Year

Flume – Say It (Illenium Remix) (WINNER)
Portugal. The Man – Feel It Still (Medasin Remix)

Rufus Du Sol– Innerbloom (Sasha Remix)

Låpsley – Operator (DJ Koze Extended Disco Version)

Ed Sheeran – Shape Of You (NOTD Remix)

Ed Sheeran – Shape Of You (Major Lazer Remix)


Festival of the Year

EDC – Multiple Cities (WINNER)

Tomorrowland – Boom

Electric Forest – Rothbury

Movement - Detroit

Lightning In A Bottle – Bradley


Club of the Year

Berghain / Panorama Bar - Berlin

DC-10 - Ibiza

elrow - Barcelona

Fabric - London

Omnia – Las Vegas
Output – New York (WINNER)

XOYO – London

XS – Las Vegas


Radio Show of the Year

Above & Beyond – Group Therapy

Annie Mac – Annie Mac Presents

Claude VonStroke – The Birdhouse

Danny Howard – BBC's Radio 1 Dance Anthems

Diplo – Diplo & Friends (WINNER - TIE)

Liquid Todd – Beta BPM

Nicole Moudaber – In The Mood

Pasquale Rotella – Nightowl Radio

Pete Tong – The Essential Selection (WINNER - TIE)


New Artist Of The Year

Alison Wonderland (WINNER)
Mura Masa
San Holo


DJ of the Year

The Black Madonna
Claude VonStroke
Eric Prydz (WINNER)


Live Act of the Year

Bob Moses
Eric Prydz
Porter Robinson x Madeon
Rufus Du Sol (WINNER)


Producer of the Year

Cashmere Cat (WINNER)
Hot Since 82
The Chainsmokers


About the author

Managing Editor